The Genevieve Series – By Estelle Ryan

I definitely enjoy a good mystery series. The Genevieve Series (although not the unofficial or official titles) is a wonderful series by Estelle Ryan. Estelle Ryan is a wonderful author who has written a series involving a character named Genevieve. Interestingly, Genevieve is a high functioning non-typical individual. In other words, she is autistic. She is an investigator for an insurance company which insures high priced art, coins, etc.

This is a series of books that will teach you quite a bit about people who are non-neurotypical, or often on the autistic spectrum. I love how the characters grow and learn to understand and accept each other for who they are. Something I find very important to teach my students.

Technology, Teaching, Books, and Life – with God is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to


In this, the first book of the series, she is asked to help government investigators determine why young artists are being killed. Supposedly, it is just a simple case she helps out on, but as time goes on it becomes more complicated. Someone breaks into her apartment, scaring her. Over time, she becomes friends with him. Then, Genevieve gets beaten up by the bad guys. As the series continues, she becomes friends with others she sees as having questionable qualities. Genevieve grows through each series and through a variety of situations, both expected and unexpected.

Estelle Ryan involves other characters, who at first appear to be criminals and challenges Genevieve’s ability to rationalize and accept these individuals in her life. The first book introduces several characters, including Colin and Vinnie (the best friends), Manny (or Manfried) – the legal investigator, Francine – a computer geek and Phillip – Genevieve’s boss. I love all of the characters and how their seemingly criminal backgrounds really are not.

I also enjoy learning about the various artists each book is based on. The first book includes Gauguin, and I even researched more about him. I enjoyed the colors he actually uses in his art.


Another positive in the series is how Estelle Ryan kept the art in the forefront of each book. Each book ends with a bit of a cliffhanger. One bad guy may be caught but another gets away somehow. Normally, I don’t like cliffhangers, but most of the time these don’t bother me. I have read every book in the series. A new one came out today and I am looking forward to having time this weekend to delve into it.

Highly recommended – that is what I think of this series. Every book has been well worth the time and money to read. Genevieve continues to grow and learn as a person and each character in the story does as well.

More in the series:

There is now a total of 11 books in the series. I have listed the remainder below.
The Braque Connection: A Genevieve Lenard Novel

The Flinck Connection: A Genevieve Lenard Novel (Volume 4)

The Courbet Connection: A Genevieve Lenard Novel (Volume 5)

The Pucelle Connection: A Genevieve Lenard Novel (Volume 6)

The Léger Connection: A Genevieve Lenard Novel (Volume 7)

The Morisot Connection: A Genevieve Lenard Novel

The Vecellio Connection: A Genevieve Lenard Novel (Volume 9)

The Uccello Connection: A Genevieve Lenard Novel (Volume 10)

And the newest novel, which was released August 24, 2017, is:

Please follow and like us:
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)